About Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico is the easternmost of the Greater Antilles (18 15 N, 66 30 W), and the fourth largest island in the Caribbean after Cuba, Hispaniola (which comprises the Dominican Republic and Haiti), and Jamaica. The Island is located at the crossroads between North and South America, at just 3.5 hours airtime from New York, 60 minutes from Caracas, and at only 4 days sailing from Atlantic ports in the U.S. and ports in the Gulf of Mexico. The Puerto Rican territory includes other three small islands, Vieques, Culebra and Mona, as well as numerous islets.

Based on the latest U. S. Census, the population of Puerto Rico is roughly three million seven hundred twenty six thousand (3,725,789) people. The Island, with an area of 3,435 square miles (9,000 sq. km)-110 miles long by 39 miles wide-has a mountainous interior and is surrounded by a wide coastal plain where the majority of the population lives. Rainfall averages 69 inches (175 cm) per year and year-around temperatures range from 74°F (23°C) in the winter to 81°F (27°C) in the summer.

Puerto Rico’s relationship with the United States is referred to herein as commonwealth status. The United States and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (the “Commonwealth”) share a common defense, market, and currency. The Commonwealth exercises virtually the same control over its internal affairs as do the 50 states. It differs from the states, however, in its relationship with the federal government. The people of Puerto Rico are citizens of the United States but do not vote in national elections. They are represented in Congress by a Resident Commissioner who has a voice in the House of Representatives but no vote. Most federal taxes, except those such as Social Security taxes which are imposed by mutual consent, are not levied in Puerto Rico. No federal income tax is collected from Puerto Rico residents on income earned in Puerto Rico, except for certain federal employees who are subject to taxes on their salaries. The official languages of Puerto Rico are Spanish and English.

The Constitution of the Commonwealth provides for the separation of powers of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government. The Governor is elected every four years. The Legislative Assembly consists of a Senate and a House of Representatives, the members of which are elected for four-year terms. The highest court within the local jurisdiction is the Supreme Court of Puerto Rico. Puerto Rico constitutes a District in the Federal Judiciary and has its own United States District Court. Decisions of this court may be appealed to the United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit and from there to the Supreme Court of the United States. Governmental responsibilities assumed by the central government of the Commonwealth are similar in nature to those of the various state governments. In addition, the central government assumes responsibility for local police and fire protection, education, public health and welfare programs, and economic development.